Spencer R. Scott

Executive Director

Spencer R. Scott is a native of Lancaster SC. He moved to Florence SC to attend Francis Marion University (FMU). As a 1994 graduate of FMU with a BS degree with a dual collaboration in Sociology and Business Administration, he obtained a position with Circle Park Prevention Center as a Prevention Specialist. He later became the Program Director for the Florence Area Literacy Council focusing on parents receiving their GED while providing childcare for their children.

In 1999, he was hired to write the initial grant for Florence County First Steps. Once the grant was funded, Mr. Scott was hired as the Executive Director. In 2003, he also became the executive director of Marion County First Steps.

Spencer has served on numerous boards such SC United Way, United Way of Florence County, Hope Health Advisory Council, and Smart Start Advisory Council. He also served as a member of several civic, community and fraternity organizations such as Rotary International. Kiwanis Club, and a member of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Spencer is married to Tracey Scott, a social worker and they have four beautiful children, Brittani (deceased), Autumn, Ayshia, and Spencer II.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Beryl Collington

Literacy Coordinator

Beryl Collington is the literacy coordinator for Marion County First Steps. She is responsible for providing literacy experiences for birth to 5 year old children in Marion County in public and private centers. A retired teacher, Beryl earned a BA from Benedict College and a Masters + 30 from the University of South Carolina. She serves on the Pee Dee Community Action Partnership Head Start/Early Head Start Policy Committee. At St. John Missionary Baptist Church, she is a Sunday School Teacher. Beryl is a lifelong member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Our Board

Farrah Woodberry Owens

Interim Chairman


Hayley Tucker

Kimberly Tart

Evelyn Grant

Joined 2020



Tanya Hodge

Assistant Treasurer
August 2017



Victoria Belin

August 2017



Annette Gerald

August 2013



Georgette Washington

April 2019



Denita Davis, RN, BSN, CLS

© Marion County First Steps

(843) 629-0202